Personal Childhood Web

During my life, there have been people who have supported and nurtured me.  Five of them are: 

My Mother

Ever since I can remember my mother has always been very encouraging and supportive.  Since I grew up in a single-parent household she did not want me to become too dependent on her so she pushed me towards being more independent.  Throughout my life I have never doubted her love for me and she has always been my role model.  Though she was what some considered a strict parent I was never afraid to approach her with any topic. I knew that everything she did was out of love for me.  She made sacrifices to ensure that I had what I needed to succeed.  My mother’s influence can be seen in so many areas of my life such as: my approach to situations that arise, the way I treat others, some of my characteristics and my attitude towards work.  

 Aunty Avril 

I have always known her as Aunty Avril.  When I was younger she shared an apartment with my mother and me.  Her schedule was such that it allowed her to drop me at school every morning.  I soon became like a daughter to Aunty Avril.  We often had our own inside jokes and nick names for each other.  Aunty Avril still kept in touch even after we had all left that apartment.  When I went to college I got weekly emails from her and I continue to do so now.  Whenever I return home I always visit her and her co-workers.  She went to my college graduation, which made us both extremely happy. Aunty Avril influenced me to keep in touch with my friends. I really appreciated the fact that she kept in touch me even though we were miles apart

 Aunty Marcia

My whole life I have called her Aunty Marcia.  She is my mother’s hairdresser.  When I was younger I used to stay at her house after school.  My mother would pick me up from there on her way home from work.  At the time, Aunty Marcia had two sons, one was one year older than me and the other was two years younger than me.  She always involved me in anything that her family was doing, I never felt like an outsider but instead I felt like a part of her family.  When it was time for my high school prom she did my hair and nails for free.  She has always been involved in my life and has playfully teased me about boys and about growing up. Since leaving Jamaica we do not keep in touch like I would like to but my mother relays messages between the both of us.  Whenever I return home she is always one of the first persons that I visit. Her influence can be seen in the way I try to include other people in much the same way that she always included me.

Uncle McKayle 

I have known him for the majority of my life.  He used to work next door to my mother; he dropped her at work for years until she got her own vehicle.  Uncle McKayle was always interested in how I was doing at school.  He was also interested in my nutrition. Uncle Mac would sometimes buy groceries for us on the weekend, mostly fruits.  When he became a Christian, he would often tell me that he is praying for me.  He always visits me when I return home.  Nowadays I don’t talk to him very often but I often think of his kindness and this makes me want to be kind to someone else. 

 Aunty Pearline

Aunty Pearline ,as she was known to me, was my mother’s co-worker.  She would often invite me to her house where I would have sleepovers with her children.  I became very close to her daughter who was one year younger than me.  Aunty Pearline was always very encouraging to me, especially in regards to school.  One year she invited me to join her family on their family vacation at a hotel.  It was one of the my best vacations. When I started college in America she told me that I could contact her if I needed any help, financial or otherwise.  Nowadays I mostly stay in contact with her through her daughter. Her influence can be seen in the close relationship I now have with her daughter.

5 thoughts on “Personal Childhood Web

  1. Reading these influences in your life just made me smile. I can sense the great relationships you have with these individuals and what a blessing they have been in your life. I have to say I have so much respect for single parents! It’s hard enough two parents juggling schedules and raising children, let alone being on your own and trying to do it. So wonderful others stepped in to help and shaped you into the person you have become today. 🙂 Thank you for sharing these special individuals in your life with us.

    Jill

  2. Your childhood web is great. I know it meant alot to you to have such a close family that you could depend on. Your childhood web reminds me of Mahaley’s 🙂 You seem real close to your aunts. These relationships have really impacted you as an adult. Aunt Marcia sounds like alot of fun.Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Your relationships through out your childhood shows that just because you are in a single parent home doesn’t mean you can’t have close friends that take place of family members. I lived in a close net neighborhood as a child and had relationships that will influence me forever as well. The valuable relationships you have throughout your life do not have to be people connected by blood relations. I appreciate you sharing some of your memories and helping me to recreate them in my mind.

  4. It is very obvious that these great relationships helped to teach you life long lessons. Just from reading I can tell that your family is close knit and made sure to support you in every way possible. These memories show how important family can be to the development of a child and even the smallest things matter. Kudos to your family.

Leave a comment